Almost there!

Hi All

Thank you for checking back in.

For the last three weeks I have been pouring all of my available time in to the raffle which I am running as another way to fundraise for the beat cancer tour.

The generosity has been overwhelming, with support from various companies and individuals donating prizes (some of a very high caliber, read, value!), many of which do not know me from a bar of soap.  Also sincere thanks for the many people who have bought tickets, some of which I know, and other which I do not.

The raffle has been very successful, raising (as at today) another $1,533.00, which takes my fundraising total to something in the vicinity of $14,600.00. An absolutely stellar effort that would not be possible without the people who have been reading this blog.

So it has now reached a point where I can start to count down the days until the ride starts, with my flight out of Melbourne next Saturday, 8 days away (eek!).

I have been able to string a couple of very solid riding weeks together, with around 450kms a week for two weeks. Now that it is so close to “go time”, it is time for me to peel back the volume, and try and freshen up in time for the tour. Ideally I would have liked to have gotten far more training in, but there are only so many hours in the day.

20140105_105012

One of the many roads I have ridden as part of my training for the Beat Cancer Tour.

I have never attempted a fundraiser before, but I have found it both challenging, and extremely rewarding. I know I have said it before, but I hope that David is looking down, proud of what has been achieved. I wish I could have had the opportunity to sit down with him some time in the next week, have a cup of tea, and have a chat about the journey I am about to embark on. Whilst he cannot be with me, he will be in my thoughts when I am slogging my guts out through the South Australian country side, and I am sure he will have his hand on my back giving me a gentle push up the many hills that I need to ride.

If time would have allowed, I am sure that David would have joined me on a ride, and would have been a good cyclist in his own right, as proven in the below photo when he was younger, he had a set of legs many cyclists would be jealous of!

Young David

Fingers crossed the Adelaide weather is kind to me, and stays away from the big 4-0.

Thank you for reading.

2 thoughts on “Almost there!

    1. desbos Post author

      Thanks Andrew. The weather in melbourne this week isnt ideal, but im just bloody glad we arent riding this week. Looks like the cool change will roll in on saturday just in time. + There is another $2k on its way from the raffle I organised, so have raised nearly $16,000 for David! Absolutely stoked.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

