The long road

It seems a long time since I wrote David a letter.

He had been diagnosed with terminal brain cancer, out of hopelessness I had been racking my brain to find a way I could help. It struck me that lifting Davids spirits was the most effective thing I could do to help.

The letter explained my feeling of hopelessness, also offering to complete some kind of challenging bike ride to raise money for a cancer foundation in his name.

David came in to visit me, and accepted my offer. Now.. how to go about this??

I had never done a fundraiser before. Initially I had thoughts of organising my own event, but it proved too much for me, permits, insurances, logistics, I just couldn’t do it. Time was frittering away, as it does for many of us. Hours become days, days to weeks, weeks to months, and before I could blink, David was gone.

Every time I write something like ‘david was gone’, it makes me so sad. Ive touched on it before, but life is so bloody hectic these days, we arent given true time for reflection and contemplation.

I kept looking for a suitable event, and finally found the beat cancer tour. The event was well timed (in relation to fitting in with my work and life), it was raising money for the Cancer Council, the course was bloody hard, and it seemed like an amazing experience. Tick, tick, tick, tick.

Writing this blog has given me true and purposeful pause for thought. I have loved this whole experience. To reflect on Davids life, and hopefully give some friends and family a small positive to reflect on has been amazing.

The generosity of every person that has donated has blown me away, every, single, day. Thank you.

Tomorrow, for me, is the finale for this story. I realise there is a small stage on sunday, but for me, this epic journey ends at the top of old willunga hill.

A small legacy has been built for David which will be living here online for as long as the internet exists.

To put so much energy in to one thing, I cant help but feel a little emotional.

Together we have raised $16,000 for the cancer council, what an amazing result.

I realise this post is all over the shop, I blame this on a mix of fatigue and emotion, but I would like to finish the post as follows.

———–

24th Jan 2014

Dear David

Thankyou for accepting my offer to complete a fundraiser in your name. I am sorry I took so long to get around to it.

I just thought I would send you a note to let you know that the fundraiser has been a huge success. A total of $16k raised, and every dollar was donated for you. The ride itself has gone really well, but not without its fair share of challenges. As I write this I have two stages to go, and have already this week clocked 700kms and 9.5kms of vertical climbing(!) in 5 days.

I would have liked to have you around for a cup of tea next week so I can tell you about how the ride went, but I dont think you’ll have time to make it. So ill have to leave our catchup for another time.

As this will be my last letter to you, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for being a very important part of my life, and for letting me be a small part of yours.

Kind Regards

Deryck

Ps, the ride has been great, but geez my bum is sore!

Leave a Reply

